vhqq_mascissquare--1A gorgeous treat just dropped in our inbox, in the form of Amy Rigby’s ‘Tom Petty Karaoke’, a single the New Yorker is launching ahead of a very welcome UK tour. Here’s the track:

‘Tom Petty Karaoke’ is inspired by J Mascis singing “Don’t Do Me Like That” at karaoke. New York songwriter Amy Rigby is one of those who notes that October is unofficial Tom Petty Month (between the anniversary of his death, and his birthday being 20 October).

Amy explains more about the track:

“Tom Petty is a guardian angel for me, like he was and is for many musicians. I’ve written about him on my blog a lot because anytime I’m on the road it’s like Tom is there on my shoulder, saying “that’s cool” or “you can do better”. This was true when he was alive and even more now that he’s gone. After another week of discord and divisiveness in the news, I saw a video of J Mascis singing Don’t Do Me Like That in a nearly-empty karaoke bar. I’d sung American Girl with Chuck Prophet and the Mission Express the night before and felt the power of that song reach out and lift people up. Mascis’ karaoke performance was the opposite, it was internal, like prayer. He wasn’t doing it for an audience, he was doing it for himself. I imagined I was J, strummed some American Girl chords and wrote this song.”

UK Tour Dates:
Sat Nov 10 – Cromer, Hall
Wed Nov 14 – Manchester, Gulliver’s
Thu Nov 15 – Glasgow, Hug & Pint
Fri Nov 16 – Edinburgh, Voodoo Rooms Speakeasy
Sat Nov 17 – Durham, Olde Cinema Launderette
Sun Nov 18 – Hull, St. John’s
Thu Nov 22 – Worcester, Marrs Bar
Fri Nov 23 – London, Betsey Trotwood
Sat Nov 24 – Portsmouth, Elmsworth Sports Club
Sun Nov 25 – Folkestone, Lime Bar Café

Advertisements