Franklin-Fest 2017 3Review by Cassie Fox

Nervous Twitch: ‘I Won’t Hide’
12″ vinyl (Oddbox)
released 20 October
and single ‘That Weird Guy’
7″ vinyl (Punk Fox) – out now


What a treat! Nervous Twitch’s new album has been playing on repeat in LOUD WOMEN HQ (aka my kitchen) since it landed in my inbox.

I Won't Hide Album - Digital Use

A generous 14 tracks of catchy lo-fi garage pop, with themes of ‘alienation, anxiety and adversity’ – this is Saturday night music to dance round your living room to with your bestie. Singer/bassist Erin Hyde’s delivery is bitingly cool as ever, over fast and steady riffs – somewhere between Bikini Kill and the Buzzcocks – and I really enjoyed the Cramps-style organ on several tracks.
The lead single, ‘That Weird Guy’, is out now on groovy 7” clear yellow vinyl from the ubercool label Punk Fox Records. The band describe it as “a modern take on the classic girl-group bad-boy tale, with narratives of first date faux pas replacing the original leather clad IMG_1030juvenile delinquent types with scrounger wise-guy millennials”. It’s catchy as hell, like a souped-up The Tuts. B-side ‘Look At You Now’ is a trash indie stormer, waving its bottom defiantly in face of schoolyard and workplace bullies – and we all hate those guys don’t we? The 7″ also features gorgeous bonus track ‘These Four Walls’, not available on the album.
Find Nervous Twitch on Facebook or catch them on their album tour across the UK: